I Would Like To Share With My Readers, The Outcome Of The Recent Elections Held In Namibia.

Namibia entered a new era today (1 December) with the announcement of the final results for the Presidential and National Assembly elections , to be implemented on 21 March 2015. A total of 890 738 people cast their votes in the Presidential election, while 893 643 voted for their representatives in the National Assembly Election. This represent about 70% of the 1 241 194 registered voters in Namibia.

Namibia’s third President, Dr.Hage Geingob

Newcomers to Parliament:

Namibia’s third President, Dr Hage Geingob, received 86.73% of the total votes which is almost 8% more than the Swapo Party of Namibia itself. They gained 77 of the 96 seats in the National Assembly.
A total of 715 026 people voted for Swapo.

As expected, the DTA of Namibia will be the new official opposition in the next Parliament. The party attracted 42 933 votes (4.8%) and its presidential candidate, McHenry Venaani, was also the runner-up in the Presidential race where 44 271 people voted for him. The DTA will have five (5) seats in the NA.

The lowest turn-out was in the Khomas Region with only 56% of the voters casting their votes, while 88.5% of the registered voters turned up at polling stations in the Omusati Region.

The support for the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) decreased from eight (8) representatives in the National Assembly to three (3) as from next March. A total of 31 372 people voted for the RDP.

UDF will keep its two (2) seats in the National Assembly with the 18 945 votes it received in the election, while Nudo, who received 17941 votes, will also have two (2) seats in the Assembly.

The newcomers to Parliament are the Workers Revolutionary Party with 13 328 votes which represents two (2) seats in the NA and the United People’s Movement (UPM)which gained one (1) seat with the 6 353 votes it received in the election.

Ignatius Shixwameni’s All People Party increased its support from one (1) to two (2) seats in the Assembly, with 20 431 people voting for the party.

Swanu and the Republican Party will stay with one (1) seat, respectively receiving 6 354 and 6 099 votes.

President Hifikepunye stressed at the official announcement of the results that “Multi-Party Democracy” has been Rooted in Namibia, his Successor assured the Nation that he would be a President for all Namibians. “No-one will be left out,” Dr. Hage Geingob said.


References: Informante News Paper December 2014


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s